WHEMN Leadership Award

Women in Higher Education—Mississippi Network (WHEMN) invites your nominations for the WHEMN Leadership Award.  This award was established to recognize women who have demonstrated their leadership and commitment to the advancement of women in higher education.  

The nominee should be a woman who is synonymous with mentoring other women.  She should have demonstrated leadership skills and established practices of enhancing campus climate by finding ways and means to inspire her colleagues and institution to higher levels of achievement.  

The WHEMN Leadership Award will honor an actively employed woman who serves as a role model for all women of all ages and career paths.  She should be a woman recognized for her advocacy of women’s issues.  She would be noted for her innovative approach to leadership challenges.  Her attitude, values, and actions represent her philosophy of how she inspires positive changes in her work environment and her community.  

WHEMN Leadership Award Recipients

Gloria Kellum (2006) – University of Mississippi
Myrtis Tabb (2007) – Delta State University
Frances Lucas (2008) – Millsaps College
Helen Turner (2009) – University of Mississippi Medical Center
Amy Tuck (2010) – Mississippi State University
Anna Faye Kelley-Winders (2011) – Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
Jan Reid-Bunch (2012) – Itawamba Community College
Loretta Moore (2013) – Jackson State University

Deborah Gilbert (2014) – Mississippi Community College Board
Colleen Hartfield (2015) – Hinds Community College
Laura Damm (2016) –  East Mississippi Community College
Judith Spencer (2017) – Mississippi State University
Phyllis Johnson (2018) – Northwest Community College
Jackie Martin (2019) –Copiah Lincoln Community College
Ra’Sheda Boddie-Forbes (2020)- Mississippi State University
(2021)-No recipient-COVID 19