WHEMN Leadership Award

2019 WHEMN Leadership Honoree
Jackie Martin
Associate Vice President for Instructional Services
Copiah-Lincoln Community College

Jackie Martin actively and passionately advocates for other women and encourages and challenges them to pursue additional education. She took the lead in implementing a one-year Leadership program at Copiah-Lincoln Community College, where 83 women at the institution increased their knowledge of the two-year community college system in Mississippi and sharpened their leadership skills.

Martin’s prior work experience at Co-Lin includes Tech Prep coordinator, director of CTE Curriculum and Instruction and dean of Career and Technical Education and Workforce Education.

“She serves as a great example to all women, especially young women, that much can be accomplished with hard work and commitment, coupled with a strong work ethic and good values,” said Jane Hulon, president Copiah-Lincoln Community College

In her community, Martin works with women in a rehabilitation center. As a mentor, she helps them overcome their insecurities about their ability to successfully earn a college degree.

Martin was also at the forefront of implementing the MIBEST program, which enables adults without a high school credential to simultaneously earn their high school equivalency, while earning workforce credentials and college degrees. Her success was quickly evident, and she was asked to help other community colleges implement the program.

Martin is a graduate of Mississippi State University, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in Technology Teacher Education and a master’s degree in technology. She has also received a specialist’s degree in Educational Leadership from Mississippi College, where she is currently pursuing a doctorate in Educational Leadership.

Previous Recipients

Gloria Kellum (2006)

Myrtis Tabb (2007)

Frances Lucas (2008)

Helen Turner (2009)

Amy Tuck (2010)

Anna Faye Kelley-Winders (2011)

Jan Reid-Bunch (2012)

Loretta A. Moore (2013)

Deborah Gilbert (2014)

Colleen Hartfield (2015)

Laura Damm (2016)

Judith A. Spencer (2017)

Phyllis Johnson (2018)